My favourite lines from Bukowski

Standard

I’ll forever be indebted to my ‘Miss California Sunshine’ friend, Mary, for introducing me to the amazing works of Charles Bukowski. The venerable ‘Dirty Old Man’ was a drunk, a degenerate, a womanizer, a genius and a real piece of shit.  But boy could he draw sparks when he put pen to paper. I recently finished ‘Women’- a 300 page sleaze-fest in which Bukowski’s alter-ego Henry Chinaski fucks his way through an astonishing carousel of young fans, druggies, misfits and various others who seemed to have fallen down through the cracks in society like himself.

I’m laying down here a few of my favourite Bukowski quotes- either from himself or from his work. First I’ll start with the poem I currently have stuck on my fridge door……

You, by Charles Bukowski

you’re a beast, she said
your big white belly
and those hairy feet.
you never cut your nails
and you have fat hands
paws like a cat
your bright red nose
and the biggest balls
I’ve ever seen.
you shoot sperm like a
whale shoots water out of the
hole in its back.

beast beast beast
she kissed me,
what do you want for
breakfast?

Some of my favourite quotes:

~There was nothing really as glorious as a good beer shit—I mean after drinking twenty or twenty-five beers the night before. The odor of a beer shit like that spread all around and stayed for a good hour-and-a-half. It made you realize that you were really alive~

~Parties sickened me. I hated the game-playing, the dirty play, the flirting, the amateur drunks, the bores~

~Sex is interesting, but it’s not totally important. I mean it’s not even as important (physically) as excretion. A man can go seventy years without a piece of ass, but he can die in a week without a bowel movement~

~Well, people got attatched. Once you cut the umbilical cord they attatched to the other things. Sight, sound, sex, money, mirages, mothers, masturbation, murder, and Monday morning hangovers~

~The difference between a democracy and a dictatorship is that in a democracy you vote first and take orders later; in a dictatorship you don’t have to waste your time voting~

~I don’t like jail, they got the wrong kind of bars in there~

Leave a Reply

