Weekend Summer Camp

Standard
Weekend Summer Camp
IMG_0074IMG_0075IMG_0079IMG_0097IMG_0106

GYL Summer Camp, Okgye, 2011, a set on Flickr.

So to save money toward my next adventures in traveling I’ve taken on any extra work I can lay my hands on over these last few months. The biggest cash cow has been a Global Youth Leaders programme I work at 2 Saturdays every month which pays really well and is pretty easy money too as the Middle School students who take part in it are all exceptional at English. This weekend was the overnight camp for this programme and we stayed at a swanky Women’s Centre situated right on the beach with a lush panoramic view of the tree covered mountains.

There were plenty of photo opps and I snapped away with my iPod on the first day. As you can tell I’m pretty hooked on the Instagram app on my iPod! I love the range of effects you can choose from and the way some of them can pop the colors in an average looking photo and transform it into something that looks pretty gorgeous. I’m quite addicted to this neat little memory maker  ^^

Anyway, back to the camp. The kids had a bunch of team projects to do, they put on a talent show and we hired a dance teacher to teach the students and camp leaders a K-Pop dance routine which I may or may not have royally f*cked up in the teachers final dance performance at the end! Ah, nothing tops of a day better than making an ass of yourself in front of a bunch of teenagers!

This was how it should have been done

I spent a good dose of my time dedicated to one of my favorite hobbies- people watching. Or student watching as this was. There was the loner girl who sat all day solving, undoing and re-solving a Rubiks cube. There was the chubby flamboyant boy who performed the entire Miss A dance routine during his team’s talent performance, taking it all way too seriously. And there was the angel faced pre-pubescent girl wearing a t-shirt emblazoned with ‘I’ll show you mine if you show me yours’. Ah, sweet oblivion. I couldn’t help but chuckle and remember the time on the beach when my boyfriend spotted an ajumma pooting around wearing a t-shirt with the slogan ‘Vote Mike Hunt for President’…x

Leave a Reply

